Three years later

Interesting to read the previous post three years later. I remember thinking back then how very much I wished I could skip ahead to three years from now and holy crap, here I am! Of course what I realized then, which was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, was that of course when faced with a trial like this, whether it’s a life threatening illness, divorce, death…..pain….there is no way around it. The only way is to walk right into it. Like with labor, walk INTO the pain! And I was right back then….one day at a time is the only way to walk this journey. Before cancer, I think I always struggled to live in the moment. Having cancer taught me how to do it. The impetus for starting this blog was not so much that it be a survivor’s blog, even though in many respects of course that’s what it is, but a way for me to be a living, breathing example of what life will be after cancer. I’m only one person and each person’s journey is unique. But I will say that although it’s not a club anyone wants to be in, once you are in, there is definitely a shorthand that survivors have with each other. So, if you are someone in the midst of your battle, I just want to say that it DOES happen. People get better every day. I am three years out from the time I describe below. It’s been a long road and I won’t say that I am 100%. But wow, I can do things now that I couldn’t do two years ago, a year ago, even six months ago. My new normal has arrived and yours will too. So, this blog is just going to be about my life, my observations, my epiphanies and what it means to have come out of all of this changed but also more myself than ever before.

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in epiphanies, gratitude, loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

