10 Things to love about marrying a Frenchman

my favorite French dessert

heaven on a plate

1.  Going to visit family in Paris instead of…well,…..anywhere else!

2. Having your girlfriend tell you she secretly calls your answering machine just to hear the Frenchman’s accent.

3.  Having a secret code language in public when needing to reprimand, send a message or say something naughty

4.  Being able to look him straight in the eye when he sincerely asks you, “what exactly is in a Big Mac anyway?” and say, trippingly off the tongue, “two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.” And watch him practically do a spit take!

5.  Eating the above pictured Millefeuille a la framboise et chantilly (raspberry, whip cream napoleon) once a year on our treks to Paris

6.  the food, did I mention the food? Learning the beauty of blanquette de veau, duck a l’orange, creme brulee, oysters, escargot, fois gras, cheese and good wine.

7.  Watching French movies and having nostalgic feelings for what has become your second home.

8.  Falling in love in Paris….the bridges, the cafes, the rendezvous…..a little more romantic than meeting online….not that there’s anything wrong with that! 😉

9.  Not having to watch American sports every weekend!

10.  Still learning things about each other and each other’s cultures and history after 22 years.

I’m sure I could also come up with the ten things I hate about being married to a Frenchman, but I’m kind of a glass half full kind of gal, but I’m sure my little frustrations will manifest on this blog from time to time…..times when I say, “Okay, Frenchie!” or “oh, you’ve just got to be so FRENCH, don’t you?” But honestly, after 22 years, I simply can’t imagine NOT being married to my Frenchman!

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in baking, gratitude, marriage, top ten lists, true love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 10 Things to love about marrying a Frenchman

  1. tiprin says:

    OH MY GOD, this is drippingly deliciously wonderful…. it’s practically dangerous to read such things….!

  2. mama66 says:

    I have had dreams about this pastry. Isn’t the photo fabulous? I can seriously go into the photo and taste it. It’s insane and I only know of one patisserie to get it….in my friend’s neighborhood, Vaucresson, just outside Paris.

  3. caiti says:

    just come home, I’ll offer you some wonderfull millefeuilles from the “Stohrer” pastry shop round the corner( furnisher of the queen of england! yes my friend!)
    Jacqueline, Paris, France

  4. Andromeda says:

    I have heard French men are domineering is that true?

    • Alisa says:

      Hmmm, I would not say domineering, but I think, in general, French men are very sure of themselves and their opinions. But for me, that’s a good thing. My husband knows his own mind and is a strong person. But so am I. I couldn’t be with someone if I was the boss. We have a partnership. But, as with all generalizations, you really have to look at the individual….so I wouldn’t judge a whole country of handsome, French speaking men! 😉

      • writerhelenrdavis says:

        Good point, Alisa! There’s a difference between confidence and arrogance

Leave a Reply

