The hot, delicious, chocolate, molten center…reclaiming the word mid-life!

Chocolate Love

Okay, so my friend took issue yesterday with the use of the word “mid-life”. She said, “I feel like I’m just getting started!” She’s so right, so I started thinking about the word. It certainly has “old” written all over it and implies that we’re halfway to death! But upon closer inspection, I don’t think that’s what it means at all. We don’t ever arrive AT a certain time in life….it’s more a gradual, seamless passing of time and I would venture to say that mid-life is probably more of a span of twenty or so years. And exactly what those years are varies depending on your experiences. So I’m suggesting we reclaim the word mid-life to represent the juicy, molten, chocolate-y goodness that comes in the CENTER part of life!! My Mom used to call them “the golden years” because those are the years she looks back on with the most fondness….the raising kids years, when you are “gold”, life is full of rich, full, everyday moments….and you are just “IN IT”. I hear over and over from other blogs and my friends that we are finally at that time in our lives when we’ve stopped trying to please everyone and just become our authentic selves, what people think be damned! Liberating isn’t it? And I’ve found that we get more and more compassionate and awake to the world around us, making us more connected, more grounded, more at peace with what is rather than what we think we want. So…mid-life? Hells yeah. Dig in 😉

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in baking, epiphanies, friendship, gratitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The hot, delicious, chocolate, molten center…reclaiming the word mid-life!

  1. mamcita says:

    Now THAT’s a book waiting to be written….Reclaiming the term Mid Life…bookcover the Chocolate Love pic. This whole blog writing, the pictures, the experiences. Now that I have a friend publishing two books this summer at age 69, I see potential in this to be something 40+ gals would LOVE!!! Do it. You girls are SO awakened to the journey life is….VERY inspiring!

Leave a Reply

