Can’t wait to watch the Commercial Bowl…I mean, the Super Bowl this weekend!

My husband has been on the road for the past two years, so consequently, my son and I have done a lot together and new little traditions have popped up. One such tradition is watching the Super Bowl together, or what it really is to my son, the Commercial Bowl. We end up missing parts of the game because he keeps wanting to rewind back over that E-Trade baby one more time! By the way, what did we ever DO before TIVO? This began a few years ago, when I was too sick to get up off the couch, so he and I watched it together. At one point in the game he disappeared for a few minutes and came out dressed in tight pants, a jersey of some kind and had stuffed his shoulders with scarves, painted black lines under his eyes and wanted to run plays in the living room. Having been a cheerleader in high school who dated the quarterback (I know, right? For real? ) I knew a little about the game and how to throw a football. So we ran plays in the living room with me throwing the football from the couch! That day holds such a special place in my heart because my son was so full of joy and he didn’t care that I was sick and throwing from the couch. It was just one of those mother/son love affair moments. So, we do it every year now, complete with snacks, stuffing the jersey, throwing the football and cracking up at the commercials. Oh and halftime, we love halftime of course! Oh, is there a football game going on? Hadn’t noticed 😉

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in memories, mothers and sons, recovery, sons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t wait to watch the Commercial Bowl…I mean, the Super Bowl this weekend!

  1. tiprin says:

    Nice! Seriously, very nice. Way to step up to the plate… or should I say to the line?

Leave a Reply

