Have you had your pink lady today?

mmmmm strawberries

Went to our neighborhood farmer’s market today and as “the apple guy” gave me a free apple to eat while picking out some pink ladies, I was reminded just how good it is to eat something in it’s natural state. Suddenly, I am transported back to my twenties when I was living in Paris and we would go to Sunday lunches at my father-in-law’s. Every vegetable we consumed came from his garden. He belonged to one of those communal city gardens and he went there every day. When we came on Sundays we’d usually start with shredded carrots and shredded beets in vinaigrette…..so simple, but so delicious! The lettuce was always so tasty…just plain, with vinaigrette, perhaps a few shallots. Sometimes there were radishes that we would eat on bread with butter and salt. If there was a Spanish tortilla, it was made with potatoes and onions from the garden. All this organic goodness for free. We didn’t know how good we had it. The lunches were long and luxurious…we would all be seated at the long table with all the chairs and stools in the house and we would talk and laugh and eat and eat and eat. If we were lucky, we’d get one of Luisa’s famous flans which was brought out to much fanfare and licking of lips. The afternoon would float by as we chatted, played games, played cards and at some point my father-in-law would fall asleep in the corner amid all the chaos. So, I come to the farmer’s market to feel that simplicity, that goodness….and try to recapture just a little of those days for my family.

The Apple Guy

a thursday afternoon

our little metro

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in an apple a day, choosing the simple path, farmer's market, memories, paying attention and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have you had your pink lady today?

  1. Juliana says:

    Your post made me feel like I was right there with you in France! I can’t wait til my kids are older and we can have lazy sundays around the table and I can spend the day cooking!

  2. Selena says:

    I’m gonna have a pink lady. Or maybe a Gala … hmmm u got my mouth watering!

Leave a Reply

