Minute meditations…yes, you DO have time to meditate!

ohmmmmmm

I hear it all the time. “I should meditate, I know it would be good for me.” But it seems to be something that we all don’t think we have time for. I remember years ago reading an interview with Goldie Hawn and there was a photo of her meditation ROOM….with her Buddhas, a fountain, pillows, incense, candles. It was lovely.ย  But how many people actually have a whole room to spare? Not most of us.ย  My friend keeps promising herself she’ll meditate once she gets her house in order and figures out a meditation area. But the truth is, for most of us, we don’t really have that extra space (although if you do, it’s a great idea) and we’ll probably never do it if we are indeed waiting for a half hour with no interruptions. Yes, maybe you can work up to that, but you better invest in some sound reducing headphones first. But here is something I discovered while reading Pema Chodron’s “The Places That Scare You”; if you have a minute, you have time to meditate. It’s true. And it works. Any time that you find yourself alone and it’s quiet, for me it often happens in the car, you can do a few deep, relaxing breaths. My favorite is the one where you hold one nostril shut while breathing in deep through the open nostril. Hold both nostrils shut for a few seconds and then release the opposite nostril and breathe slowly out. Then just say whatever you need to say. It can be a prayer, a mantra, a blessing, a desire….ask for what you need in that moment. It can be as simple as “everything’s okay”. It’s just about allowing everything to slow down to stillness, even if it’s just for a few moments. You center yourself and focus on what you want in the moment, in the interview, for the day, whatever it is. I have found this to be tremendously helpful in keeping stress at bay, remembering to pay attention and being present. I do it often. Every day. Now I do have sound cancelling headphones, a beautiful, silk meditation pillow, a beautiful little chime, candles and other feng shui items in my crowded, little room and I used to use them daily. I do hope to get back to doing it for longer stretches and occasionally I get there. But, doing these little minute meditations really helps me to remember the simple path on a daily basis. Try it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Buddha in my friend's garden

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in being present, choosing the simple path, meditation, one day at a time, paying attention, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Minute meditations…yes, you DO have time to meditate!

  1. MK Mercurio says:

    What a beautiful post!

    And what a great reminder that mediation is something we all have time for – at a stoplight, in the grocery store, in the shower… though I do like the candles and silk pillow idea best!

    Warm regards~ Marge from Colorado

  2. melanie says:

    yes, WHY is it so hard for me to do it???? i will step away from the computer and give myself a couple minutes…. thanks for the reminder. ๐Ÿ™‚ oxoxo

Leave a Reply

