Buh Buh Buh Buh Buh BACON!!!

I’m accepting the wordpress challenge to dare to discuss….BACON. I remember a physical trainer that I worked out with briefly way back when saying to me, “NO ONE should EVER really eat bacon.” And I gave it up. For a time. But ever so slowly….be it sprinkled on a spinach salad, or cooked into a delicious quiche or sugared and fried at a breakfast joint along with eggs and pancakes, it made it’s way back into my repertoire. A fellow drama geek friend of mine even wrote a song about it that has become a family favorite in my house. I don’t know how or when it happened, but I now enjoy bacon without guilt in all of the above ways. One of our favorite things to do with bacon is to make spaghetti carbonara; a simple, rustic Italian dish that I learned how to make when I lived in France. This recipe comes from the Italian grandmother of a dear, African friend. Enjoy!

Mama's Spaghetti Carbonara

Mama's Spaghetti Carbonara

Spaghetti

2 tablespoons Butter

1 tablespoon Olive oil

1 tablespoon crème fraiche

Bacon (about 6 pieces)

1 egg yolk

Pepper (optional)

Green peas (optional)

Cook your bacon until crispy, drain on paper towels.

Cook your spaghetti and drain in a colander

In a pot, melt your olive oil and butter, stir in the crème fraiche

Add in your spaghetti and coat it with the sauce using tongs

Remove from flame and add the egg yolk. Stir vigorously with a fork.

Add the bacon, a little pepper and freshly cooked peas. The bacon alone is the more classic version.

Serve with parmesan cheese sprinkled as desired.

About Alisa

I'm a woman in "the middle place" living in a town we call "Mayberry". I'm a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, aunt, friend, cancer survivor.....taking care of my family and my people the best I can, living a life of quiet dignity as loudly as I can.
This entry was posted in choosing the simple path, cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buh Buh Buh Buh Buh BACON!!!

  1. mamcita says:

    OMG! I’m still laughing. I live alone, so eat bacon when I want to with NO guilt…well except when I THINK about it…which is NOT much! Thanks for the laugh! Ha ha ha ha

  2. tiprin says:

    Orion’s favorite… I really should make it for him more often…

Leave a Reply

